Holiday Nails – Shiny and Bright

1 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

Hi.  Time is flying by and I’ve been busy getting gifts wrapped and doing last minute holiday shopping.  I hope your preparations for the holidays are coming along well.

I needed a quick mani, but wanted to stay with the Christmas theme, so I decided to put on a quick coat of gold, then top it with some glitter.  I used my Zoya Ziv, then added a coat of Kleancolor Holiday Jingle.  I got my first bottles of Kleancolor on a trip to Toronto in the summer and have been looking forward to Christmas to use this lovely green glitter, and their red, too.

The Holiday Jingle is green glitter in a transluctent green base, so it gave the gold a lovely green glow!  I also added a coat of Color Club Snow Flakes, which is a red flakey, but it is so sublte  you can barely see it.  (I look forward to trying it over a different colour to see the effect.)

Here’s the result.

2 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

3 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

4 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

5 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

The next day, I decided I’d like to enhance it, so I pulled out Kleancolor Red Sparkle.  When I painted it over Ziv on my thumb, I found it was a stronger base than the green, so rather than a hint of red, it went bright red, but oh, so lovely because over the gold it has a foil look!  As pretty as that was, though, I wanted something more glitzy, so I added the Kleancolor Holiday Jingle and I decided to add some gold glitter, too, so I used Glamorous from the Wet’n’Wild Fergie collection.

6 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

7 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

8 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

Next, I decided that the current colour on my other nails would look fabulous peeking out from the red, so I grabbed my striping take and here’s what I came up with.  (The green glitter is showing through the coat of red.)

9 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

10 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

And I left the thumb as is.

11 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

I was very happy with the result and wound up wearing this for almost two weeks.  I was amazed at how well it  held up!

12 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

Here’s a closeup of all that lovely glitter on my thumbnail.

13 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

I took some photos in the late afternoon with my poinsettias and the lighting was a bit dark, but I liked the result so I thought I’d share them.

14 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

15 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

16 - Opal's Gems - Christmas Wrap nails

I still have a couple of Christmas manis to share, so I’ll try to get them up before Christmas.  (We’ll see if that works out!  lol)

Leave a Reply

